DWI Lawyers in Brownsville, Texas

Helping Our Clients Keep Their Licenses, Avoid Jail Time, and More

Nearly everyone knows the feeling of dread when they see police lights in their rearview mirror. These interactions rarely end on a positive note, but if you’re facing drunk driving charges after being stopped, your situation is particularly challenging. Texas views impaired driving as a very serious matter, so there are strict laws in place. Unfortunately, the strictness of these laws can sometimes result in false arrests, wrongful charges, or constitutional violations. A DWI lawyer in Brownsville, TX may be able to help.

At The Castro Law Office, we’ve seen countless people deal with the repercussions of a drunk driving arrest. In many instances, the worst outcomes are experienced by those who don’t have a criminal defense attorney on their side. While police officers and the prosecutor may insinuate that a conviction for driving while intoxicated is unavoidable, this is often far from the truth. These people do not have your best interest in mind, so make sure you have a Brownsville DWI attorney who does.

What Are Texas DWI Penalties?

After a DWI arrest in Texas, you may be unsure of how to proceed. Many accused individuals who forego legal representation — or who utilize public defenders — simply plead guilty so they can move on with their lives. Unfortunately, these people rarely understand the full repercussions of being convicted for a DWI offense. The following potential penalties make it clear how important it is to have Brownsville DUI lawyers on your side.

First Offense

The first time a person is convicted of driving over the legal limit — or allegedly fails field sobriety tests — they can face up to 180 days of jail time. Fines can also go up to $2,000, and their driver’s license can be suspended for a year. Those who want their licenses back may need to pay $2,000 a year — for three years — to do so. You want to avoid a first conviction under DWI charges at all costs.

Second Offense

For a conviction for a second DWI charge, Texas penal code allows incarceration for up to one year. In addition to this and an additional mark on your criminal record, you could also face fines of up to $4,000 and a minimum driver’s license suspension of one year. The annual fee to keep a driver’s license at this point is still $2,000.

Third and Subsequent Offenses

Individuals who face a conviction for three or more DWI cases could find themselves imprisoned for up to 10 years. Clearly, having a Brownsville DWI lawyer in your corner in this situation is vital. Fines also increase to up to $10,000, and a person could lose their license for up to two years. The fee to retain a driver’s license remains $2,000 for a three-year period.

What if You’re Facing Charges Besides DWI Laws?

There are instances where a DWI arrest isn’t just a DWI arrest. That’s because there are aggravating factors that could result in more serious charges. For instance, individuals with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of at least 0.15% may face heightened charges under state laws. A DUI charge in Texas can also be far more severe if you were stopped with a child passenger in the vehicle.

Commercial drivers are also at a disadvantage — because they’re considered intoxicated with a blood alcohol concentration of just 0.04%. If convicted — or if they accept a deal by pleading guilty — they will lose their CDL on top of everything else. Additionally, passenger vehicle drivers can face far more severe consequences if they’re involved in an accident while allegedly impaired.

Getting in an accident can result in assault charges, manslaughter charges, and a variety of accusations based on other factors. It’s important to have DWI lawyers in Brownsville, TX review your case so you can better understand your options. Even if you don’t face increased penalties, the normal penalties you’ll face along with increased car insurance rates can leave a lasting impact.

Are There Defenses for Driving Under the Influence?

When a person is found guilty of criminal charges, it’s because they weren’t able to mount a successful defense. This is more likely to happen when they don’t have Brownsville, TX lawyers on their side. However, the prosecutor and arresting law enforcement officer will likely tell you that there is no defense for the charges against you. It doesn’t take an excellent attorney to tell you that this is false.

Here are just a few of the most common defenses for a Cameron County DWI charge:

  • Improper stop or arrest
  • Motor vehicle was not under your control
  • Police officer unskilled in administering tests
  • Lack of probable cause
  • Medical conditions
  • Violation of Miranda Rights by public safety officers
  • Lab errors with blood test
  • Inaccurate field sobriety tests
  • Denial of right to attorney

At The Castro Law Office, you’ll work with Brownsville DWI lawyers who have extensive experience. With our legal help, you may be able to avoid the most severe penalties for conviction. And if you face a civil case for causing an accident under the influence of alcohol or other drugs, our personal injury experience may prove invaluable to your case. Our law firm is here to help, so contact us today to schedule your free initial consultation.

You need a DWI defense lawyer in Brownsville, TX on your side, and we’re ready to assist.

Contact Our DWI Lawyers in Brownsville, Texas Today

DWI charges in Texas can lead to long terms of incarceration — even for a first offense. With a potential sentence of 180 days for a single conviction, not many other states have DUI laws that are this strict. Drunk driving offenses are certainly a serious matter, but you deserve the best possible defense against the charges you’re facing. Don’t fall into the trap of thinking that a DWI conviction is imminent. Let an experienced lawyer review your case and help you understand your options.

At The Castro Law Office, you’ll work directly with a Texas criminal defense attorney who is committed to securing the best outcome possible in your case. We understand that DUI law in our state can completely upend your life, and when prosecutors start making threats, it may be tempting to simply plead guilty. However, this could result in unnecessary disruption to your life. Our DWI lawyers in Brownsville, Texas are here to help, so don’t hesitate to reach out.

Contact us at (956) 253-7770 to schedule your free consultation.